Not Just An Incubator!

20130305-155250.jpg

I was looking forward to my 32 week appointment at the hospital. This was the appointment where my caesar was to be booked, or so I had been told by every obstetrician and midwife I had seen leading up to this point. It was an “overbook” appointment meaning two doctors would be in attendance. I agreed that a VBAC (Vaginal Birth After Caesar) was too risky with twins (two lots of pushing putting double the strain on my previous scar) and as I like to be organised (not that you can tell looking at my house a lot of the time but I swear its true) getting this date was reassuring for me. Of course I also understand twins can come early so this date was just an “if not before” booking.

I was somewhat confused when I was called in and there was only one obstetrician but thought I had gotten that part of it wrong when we began the paperwork for the caesarian. It wasn’t until the obstetrician began wrapping up the appointment I asked about the date. I was given the idiotic very helpful answer that “someone will call you sometime to arrange that”.. Yes that is a direct quote. No, really, a direct word-for-word quote. I questioned this as my paper schedule I was given at my very first appointment, and everyone else I had seen, had told me something very different. He was adamant. “So can you at least give me an approximate date please, I have a four year old at home I need to organise, and my husband’s work to inform?” I asked very politely (a warning sign for anyone who knows me. Just like my Dad, the more polite I get the greater I am getting pissed off and the more trouble there will be). Normally elective caesars are booked for the Friday of the 37th week apparently and so I was looking at around the 29th of March.

Now here is the problem with that date, it’s Good Friday. This is not a problem for me but is for the hospital apparently. “Don’t worry we’ll just push you out to 38 weeks” I was cheerily informed.

OK now here’s my problem with that solution:
1. I seriously don’t think I can physically make it to 38 weeks even if the twins can. I’m already on modified bed rest (no bed -unless I want to lol – but very limited activity) and I have to use crutches because of my pelvic instability.
2. I hate when plans change when they’ve been considered set (I know not good but it’s true)
3. I will admit it was also a big excitement killer, or let down, to have another week just whacked onto the end willy-nilly

I did try to explain point one as eloquently as possible, without crying as I know that wouldn’t help, but knew it wasn’t doing any good. Either he couldn’t or wouldn’t adjust the date.

So here is what has me most upset and just a little angry. I DO NOT want these precious bubbas to come before it is safe for them to do so. I DO NOT want my pain, discomfit or inability to basically move put them in a position where NICU or special care was required. I definitely DO NOT want my impatience excitement to meet them to put them at risk. However there must certainly be a time where it is agreed my babies are in the good to go zone and my physical, mental and emotional health can then become a priority too, yes? If 37 weeks is full term for twins what is the difference between 36 +6 and 37 +1 (original thought for date)?

What upset and angered me most was that I left feeling that my pain and inability to move very far was not a consideration. What I felt was that I was a vessel carrying two precious bundles, a thing with no rights or feelings, some thing not to be considered. And I am definitely NOT JUST AN INCUBATOR!

What do you think? Am I over reacting, hormonal, or selfish? Or am I justified in these thoughts? Or is it somewhere in between?

20130306-153102.jpg

4 thoughts on “Not Just An Incubator!

  1. As mothers, we all learn that we have a sixth sense, intuition or a gut feeling. If you are not happy with the doctor, FIGHT IT. You are the ones that have to live with these decisions, you are the one that will be taking care of these babies (plus your daughter). Don’t get pushed into doing something you don’t want to do and fight for your right. Some (some are amazing !) doctors have the ‘just another patient’ attitude. Well for you, these are not ‘just some more kids’, they are the very wanted additions to a gorgeous family that will be loved and cherished. You need to be looked after in order for you to look after them. Seek another opinion !! I wish you all the best and look forward to your updates !!

  2. Oh Bec you poor thing! Reminds me of when I was 40 weeks + 3 days & I was in tears in the obstetricians office because he wouldn’t agree to induce me..in the end I was glad he didn’t & I went into labour naturally 4 days later but it made me so angry, more so because I felt as though he did not understand or validate how I was feeling- to them it’s no big deal but to us it’s the world!

  3. Pingback: Positivity ……… Gone | thebusymumma

  4. Pingback: Harper & Declan – Your Birth Story | thebusymumma

I love to chat, and the best way to do that is if you leave a comment. Thanx for taking the time!

